That Kind of Heart

So I’m honestly still not completely healed of migraine. I don’t really know why I have been perfectly imbalanced lately. I still struggle at the simple disturbing sound of the bathroom doorknob – or the brightness of my computer screen. It feels like my senses are heightened and every sound cracks aggressively in my ears, bright lights are also cruel at times. I don’t know what I have done to them that they kept hurting…

But I am grateful though that at least I can manage to post a blog, although very minimal and as cautious as I can. Here sitting on my desk is a constant supply of water, replacing my traditional coffee and I am always covered with cashmere due to the ruthless air conditioning here in the office – that adds to my paranoia – thinking it might be one of the reasons why I always get major headache. But like what I said, I am feeling a little better now. Although I’m still carrying the weight on my head, I can now manage to do household stuff. I did some reading about headaches and took note of the food items I should put on my priority list.

  1. Spinach
  2. Lentils
  3. Kidney Beans
  4. Oyster & Squids
  5. Quinoa, Sesame Seeds
  6. Dark Chocolate (Doubtful. But Yey!)
  7. Asparagus
  8. Broccoli
  9. Watermelon, Melon
  10. Avocados
  11. Yogurt
  12. Mushrooms
  13. Cucumber
  14. Beef Liver and the likes
  15. Sweet Potatoes
  16. Spicy Food (Doubtful. But says if it is cause by Sinus, it’s good.)
  17. Water!

I plan on writing shorts from now on – to have my eyes rested for a while until I’m fully well. And my goal is to eat healthy and take as much as sleep as I can. I want to be healthy and I want to feel better the soonest.

There has been so many wonderful things around despite the recurring headaches. Things that I have failed to mention and celebrate – which is why I am writing this post. I passed the exams a few weeks ago and it was quite a big deal for me and Sam, as it would dictate whether we would go on for the next step of our journey or flip the coin to plan B. Now that I made it, we just have to continue and wait for my university admissions and the rest is yet to come. I know we haven’t even reach half of the process but at least we’re moving in God’s grace.

Also I know there are so many small things around me that I should be thankful for – this job no matter how many times I have ranted about it, has always allowed me to do what I love most doing – writing. And my God, just waking up in the morning without a hammering pain in your temples, is an amazing blessing! We somehow take these small things for granted. Good Health and Safety are an immeasurable gifts granted to us everyday. There are people out there who suffer more than us. And when I take a moment to observe my life, I become so grateful that I can’t afford to complain anymore…

So today I am grateful that my headache has been reduced. Thank you for the water, the sunshine, the air, the food, the generosity and kindness of the people around me, the smile, the laughter, the fun, the tears (because it helps me feel relieved from my own emotional baggage), the beautiful stories unfolding around me and for every bit of touch that transforms me, heals me and makes me whole. Thank you.

6f774413449d224b14dc26211ffa8b12.jpg

Have a Heart Like That of Little Children…

Here’s a song that lifts me up lately. Always a favorite. It’s pretty comforting and it keeps me grounded…

8 thoughts on “That Kind of Heart

Leave a Reply

