The Bright Star

When Jesus was born, a brand new bright star appeared in sky. Some Wise Men in faraway countries saw the star and guessed what it meant. They were very clever men that studied the stars and had read in very old writings that a new star would appear when a great king was born. They set out to find the new king and bring him gifts.

The Wise Men followed the star towards the country of Judea and when they got to the capital called Jerusalem they began to ask people: 'Where is the child who is born to be king of the Jews?' Herod, the king of Judea, heard this and it made him very angry to think that someone might be going to take his place as king. Herod sent for the Wise Men to come to him. He told them to go on following the star until they had found the baby king. He said: 'When you have found him, let me know where he is, so that I can go and worship him.'. But Herod did not tell them that he really had an evil plan in mind to kill the new king.

The Wise Men followed the star towards Bethlehem (where it said that the king would be born in the old writings). It seemed to stop and shine directly down upon the place where Jesus was.

The Wise Men entered the house where they now lived and found Jesus with Mary, they bowed down and worshiped him. The Wise Men spread the the gifts they had brought before Jesus. The gifts were gold, frankincense and myrrh. The Wise Men were warned in a dream, by God, not to go back to Herod. So they returned home to their countries in the East by a different way.

☆☆☆

I was filled with so much darkness for the last week. Yes my dear, you are not alone.

I couldn’t make myself mentally available for anyone. I function by reflex like I was programmed to do things, like I don’t have a mind of my own. I panic with the slightest trace of perplexity. I tried to engage in different conversations with people to seek answers. I lost faith in my own self. I was this small suffering sponge that absorbed all the negative energies around me unable to find clarity and resolution. I was in denial of what I want and what I need to do. I was angry and frustrated and helpless. I was drowning deeply. And there was no one else to save me. Not my friends. Not my family. Not Sam. No one.

bb2f0023b5f5d0bf974e17712690bfc4.jpg

And then a bright star appeared to me. Almost invisible at first and then very pale, slowly it begins to glow. Inside me. In desperate times, we must look up and we will find it. If not with others, perhaps in our hearts. acd97a368d8d2cd9d8d3a512c484af56.jpg

In the very core of our being, despite the darkest clouds, there’s a light where hope springs.

88c8506c4bfcd0e3dc1ec02105c2b63e

My prayer is for all of us to find inner peace and happiness each and every day. Specially this Holiday Season. It is a scary world out there and storms are raging in each corner of the world (In fact, if we come to think of it. There are bigger storms happening around us. Bigger than all of our fears and worries combined. And we should be grateful that somehow ours is something still in our control. Some people don’t have that power. They don’t have the ability to change their circumstances. And it is truly heartbreaking that all we can do is pray for them.)

So I know that whatever it is we are going through right now, whatever whirlwind of trials we are facing, we are still in control of our own peace and happiness. The storms will eventually compose itself  and bow down before us. I know – because I believe in the presence of that star that lead the wise men to the manger.

Hang in there. We are off to an amazing fresh start. ☆

Excerpt from: whychristmas.com

Leave a Reply

