On Writing Fiction

So we have robots roaming around the office which is really  cool.

I was so inspired the other day that I decided to write a short story or a novel about it. It even came to a point when I started a new blog site for it. I’m so damn serious in putting all these thoughts together. I was psyched with the idea of talking to it like a real human, with feelings and expressions and opinion on things. Although of course our office robot does nothing but roam around and offer you credit cards and directions, still, wouldn’t it be awesome to imagine it could relate to you and think and laugh and at some point comfort you?

It’s not like it’s a brand new idea. Nothing is. There’s HER and A.I. and several other robot and artificial intelligence stories that had been written. But it’s my story and I will have to write it my way.

9e03e73dc88cad032050826dbea7ba07

So I had everything rolling hot since yesterday until the sizzling idea just went off for some reason.

I don’t know how to begin, where to begin, when to begin.

It used to be so easy for me to write the first draft. Not that I’m an expert. I’m totally not. I don’t have any idea whatsoever on how to write a decent short story. Much more a novel. I guess I was just more spontaneous back then because I was less conscious of my grammar and how I stitch my thoughts all together. Now I would take a shot on few sentences and I would delete them and I’d be like … that was stupid. Who starts a story with… Hi. I’m Lana…

It sounds like I’m writing a portion of my first interview.

If I would write a subtle sci-fi, dystopian love story about an ordinary girl, a robot and the universe conspiracy, how should I start it? What are my options? Do I begin with a remarkable scene about her life? Should I introduce her first? Should it be in the middle of the story with flashbacks?

Or should I just go for… Hi. I’m Lana.

Fu&k.

How do you start a novel anyway?

Leave a Reply

